Dedicated to reviews and news of music for film, TV and games

Wednesday, November 18, 2009


Night of the Creeps
Music by Barry DeVorzon
La-La Land Records LLLCD 1107 (US)
26 Tracks 71:26 mins

La-La Land Records certainly know how to cater for the cult cinema audience, one of their latest presentations being the premiere release of Barry DeVorzon's synth score to Fred Decker's 1986 comic horror Night Of The Creeps, another alien invasion story, in which the would-be-conquerors of the Earth use slug-like organisms to attack the brains of their hosts and turn them into zombies.
As usual with these releases, the album is beautifully turned out, with many colour stills from the film, plus an extensive essay by Daniel Schweiger, and bonus tracks that include songs, new and old, used in the film, including The Platters' "Smoke Gets in your Eyes," as well as a near 9-minute interview with the composer, who also contributes to the booklet notes.
As for the score, Dekker didn't have the budget to go with the symphonic approach he imagined when writing and directing the film so, mindful of the impact electronic scores were making at the time, followed that path, hiring DeVorzon to produce the music synthetically. Well, you know I'm not a lover of synth scores and the results seem terribly dated now, but the suspenseful and threatening droning is effective enough, I suppose, and there is some light relief with a nice little romantic theme present in "I'm Your Bud" and "Will You Go With Me?" as well as some beat-driven source in "What's The Tux For?" And, once more the film's fans are catered for by the inclusion of the slithery effects for the alien slugs in a number of the tracks like "The Bathroom Stall," which is later presented minus their presence.
This limited edition of 200 units can be sampled and ordered from

From Top Dollar PR:-

Music Composed by Jesper Kyd, Sascha Dikiciyan,
Cris Velasco, Raison Varner and Tim Larkin


Sumthing Else Music Works, through its licensing relationship with Gearbox Software, LLC, proudly presents the Borderlands Original Soundtrack featuring the original musical score from the highly acclaimed video game Borderlands(TM). Developed by Gearbox Software, Borderlands(TM) delivers this year's most explosive and entertaining role-playing shooter (RPS) by combining the most addictive gaming elements found in action-packed first-person shooters with the deep character development of role-playing games (RPG). The album includes
music from the game composed by Jesper Kyd, Sascha Dikiciyan, Cris Velasco and Raison
Varner as well as bonus music tracks by these artists and Tim Larkin. The Borderlands
Original Soundtrack is released on December 8th to retail outlets through Sumthing
Else Music Works, and will be available for digital download on Sumthing
Digital and iTunesĀ®.

"The Borderlands soundtrack was a tremendous collaborative effort between Cris Velasco
and Sascha Dikiciyan, Jesper Kyd and myself," said Borderlands Audio Director Raison
Varner. "From the very beginning we wanted to provide a score to Borderlands(TM)
that would stand out as unique and fresh. Borderlands spits attitude from the opening
scene until the end of the game and we needed to match that energy. I hope that
listeners will enjoy the mix of ethnic instrumentation, heavy electronic influences
and driving beats that help keep Borderlands(TM) in your face all the way through!"

Borderlands OST Tracklisting:
1. Prelude (Jesper Kyd)
2. Welcome To Fyrestone (Jesper Kyd)
3. Enter Skag Gully (Raison Varner)
4. Fighting Off The Skags (Raison Varner)
5. Removing The Bandit Threat (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
6. Traversing The Deep (Raison Varner)
7. Fighting Sledge's Minions (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
8. Welcome to The Bunker (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
9. Smoking Out The Bunker (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
10. Burning Rubber and Shooting Bullets (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
11. The Junkyard Vista (Jesper Kyd)
12. Welcome to The Trash Coast (Raison Varner)
13. The Rakkhive Emerges (Raison Varner)
14. Assaulting Krom's Canyon (Raison Varner)
15. Battling Krom's Minions (Raison Varner)
16. Fighting Krom and His Gun (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
17. Trash The Bandits (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
18. Trash The Bandits Some More (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
19. Welcome To The Wastelands (Jesper Kyd)
20. Traveling To The Vault (Raison Varner)
21. Destroying the Destroyer (Raison Varner)
22. Bonus - Bring Your Guns (Jesper Kyd)
23. Bonus - Borderlands (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
24. Bonus - The Old New Haven (Tim Larkin)
25. Bonus - Exploring the Mine (Tim Larkin)
26. Bonus - Exploring Overlook (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)
27. Bonus - The Threat At Overlook (Sascha Dikiciyan and Cris Velasco)

Featuring extensive co-op integration that seamlessly blends the single-player and
multiplayer experiences, Borderlands(TM) allows players to freely join or leave
each other's games at any time for collaborative mayhem or the freedom to choose
to play in full single-player mode to experience the world on their own. Borderlands(TM)
also includes a groundbreaking weapon generation system that offers a near infinite
variety of weapons to the player. Borderlands(TM) combines these features with addictive
non-stop action to form a breakthrough experience that challenges the conventions
of modern shooters and RPGs.

For more information on Borderlands, please visit

For more information on Sumthing Else Music Works and its complete catalog of video
game soundtracks, please visit and


Post a Comment

<< Home