Dedicated to reviews and news of music for film, TV and games

Thursday, August 14, 2008


From Costa Communications:-



Burlington, MA – On September 9, Rounder Records will release Buffy The Vampire Slayer – The Score. The Score contains 29 tracks, all drawn from seasons 2, 3, 4 and 5 of the cult TV favorite “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” which Time chose as one of the “100 Best TV Shows of All Time.”

Emmy-award winning Christophe Beck composed, mixed and produced this latest “Buffy” soundtrack. Beck has scored most of the “Buffy” series, including Once More, With Feeling, the musical episode and soundtrack that has sold over 200,000 copies in the U.S. alone. Beck has also scored many films including We Are Marshall, What Happens in Vegas, and Under the Tuscan Sun. He also composed the music for “Angel,” the television spin-off to “Buffy.”

Track Listing:


  1. Massacre (from “Becoming”)

  2. Angel Waits (from “Passion”)

  3. Remembering Jenny (from “Passion”)

  4. Twice the Fool (from “Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered”)

  5. Moment of Happiness (from “Innocence”)


  1. Loneliness of Six (from “Lover’s Walk”)

  2. Sugar High (from “Band Candy”)

  3. Tai Chi (from “Band Candy”)

  4. Kralik’s House (from “Helpless”)

  5. Magic Snow Music (from “Amends”)

  6. Slayer’s Elegy (from “The Wish”)

  7. Faith’s End (from “Graduation Day”)

  8. Drink Me (from “Graduation Day”)

  9. One Last Moment (from “Graduation Day”)


  1. Haunted (from “Fear Itself”)

  2. From the Grave (from “This Year’s Girl”)

  3. Demon Got Your Tongue (from “Hush”)

  4. Golf Claps (from “Hush”)

  5. The Princess Screams (from “Hush”)

  6. Spellbound (from “Who Are You?”)

  7. Fyarl in the Morning (from “A New Man”)

  8. A Really Big Sandbox (from “Restless”)

  9. Spaghetti (from “Restless”)

  10. Body Paint (from “Restless”)

  11. Xander’s Nightmare (from “Restless”)


  1. The Tower (from “The Gift”)

  2. Losing Battle (from “The Gift”)

  3. Apocalypse (from “The Gift”)

  4. Sacrifice (alternate version, from “The Gift”

The X Files: I Want To Believe
Music by Mark Snow
Decca B0011541-02 (US)
24 Tracks 71:51 mins

Currently in cinemas is the latest offering from the X Files team. Directed by the show's creator Chris Carter and reuniting stars David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson, it's some ten years since their last big screen offering, Fight the Future, and even longer since the classic series ended.
This film is a stand alone piece, unlike Fight the Future, which continued the alien mythology which ran through the series; featuring Billy Connolly as a paedophile priest with visions, who may or may not be helping our intrepid duo solve a series of murders.
Composer Mark Snow is an integral part of the X Files world, having scored the series and Fight the Future, where, unlike his synth accompaniment for the weekly shows, he was given an orchestra to play with, and produced a much more "high, wide and handsome" score. Here again he was given the budget to bring in a large orchestra, but the resulting score is more intimate and lyrical, as well as being akin to his atmospheric, suspenseful and dissonant TV scoring, with Snow's usual electronics added to the mix.
The generous album (even though two songs, plus a dance mix of the famous main theme, are tacked on at the end, and account for nearly 15 minutes playing time) begins with the initially ominous, then exciting action of "Moonrise." "No Cures/Looking for Fox" is largely intimate, keyboard-lead piece, but takes flight in the middle, before returning to more intimate territory, including a brief nod to the main theme. The mood continues in "The Trip to DC," with more delicate piano, before the track again takes flight on urgent strings, providing one of the best moments in the score. "Father Joe" follows, again developing into some nice travelling music, enhanced by solo soprano, at its conclusion.
Suspense is first introduced in "What if You're Wrong/Sister," with electronics enhancing the orchestra as it picks up. "Ybara The Strange/Waterboard" is almost religious in feel, with keyboard and angelic choir, before turning dark and suspenseful. Electronics surface again in the rhythmic "Can't Sleep/Ice Field." "March and Dig/Girl in the Box" has some meaty moments, including somewhat frenzied action, with subtle religious chanting. More rhythmic suspense material opens "A Higher Conscious, " but then piano adds a brief airy interlude, before the suspense continues.
An expressive cello theme opens "The Surgery," enhanced by subtle voices and then joined by soprano, to provide yet another highlight. "Good Luck" adds more inimate sentimentality, before the menacing "Seizure/Attempted Escape" breaks the mood, followed by the excitement of "Foot Chase," with its powerful percussion and tense, dissonant ending. The dissonance largely continues in "Mountain Montage/The Plow," "Photo Evidence," "The Preparation," with its central burst of frenzied action; "Tranquilized;" "The Axe Post;" and "Box Them;" before relief arrives with spiritual keyboard and strings (with nods towards the main theme), leading to the final cue "Home Again," which ends the score on a largely sunny, sentimental note, with delicate keyboard and warm strings, with soprano leading us into a final statement of the six-notes that begin the main theme.
The accompanying booklet features colour stills from the film, plus full musical credits, and a note from Chris Carter.


Post a Comment

<< Home