Dedicated to reviews and news of music for film, TV and games

Tuesday, August 21, 2007

Latest Issue of Film Music magazine + news from Costa Communications and Screen Archives Entertainment

Film Music Vol.7 No.3

If, like me, you are increasingly drawn to the often quite innovative music being written for video game industry, you will not want to miss out on a copy of the latest issue of Film Music magazine, which takes an in-depth look into the business of composing music for games. Over ten pages questions are put to composers Rod Abernethy, Jason Graves, Jesper Kyd, Garry Schyman, Jack Wall and Inon Zur, and there is also an interview with specialist game music composer agent Bob Rice. Brief profiles are also provided for each composer, together with a colour portrait. There is also an interview with APM's President Adam Taylor, regarding the music library's collaboration with Cherry Lane Music and Electronic Arts to create a library release of music composed especially for games.
But don't think this is all this excellent issue has to offer, as there is also a seven-page interview with Jeff and Mychael Danna, who have carved out successful separate careers in the film industry, as well as having collaborated on a number of scores over the years. Again, there are some nice colour portraits to accompany the piece.
An interview with Alf Clausen on the occasion of the 400th episode of The Simpsons also features, and Nathan Barr talks about his score for Hostel: Part II, the CD of which I have just received and will be covering on the site in due course.
Go to to subscribe.

From Costa Communications

Soundtrack drops Aug. 28

(Burbank, CA) Milan Records releases the soundtrack from Season 1 of the hit Showtime Original series "Dexter," featuring music by composer Daniel Licht on August 28. Along with Licht's score, the soundtrack features the theme song by Rolfe Kent and a diverse collection of songs from the first season of the hit TV program. The first season DVD hits stores August 21.

Licht's talent and experience allowed the composer to create a unique sound for "Dexter," as his music contributes an eerie yet ironic pulse to the show. Licht has already begun work on Season 2 of "Dexter" which premieres September 30.

Based on Jeff Lindsay's novels Darkly Dreaming Dexter and Dearly Devoted Dexter, the show tells the story of protagonist Dexter Morgan (Michael C. Hall) and his life as a forensic blood spatter for the Miami Dade Police Department. Based on a code instilled in him by his foster father, Dexter hunts down people who have escaped justice and makes sure they don't get away with a crime again. The series won TV Program of the Year at AFI in 2006 as well as four IGN awards and a Golden Globe nomination for Best Performance by an Actor.

Dan Licht has been writing music for film and television for over twenty years. His credits include such films as "Hellraiser Bloodline," Stephen King's "Thinner," and "Permanent Midnight" starring actor Ben Stiller. Licht has also written the music for several TV series including "Jake in Progess," and "Kitchen Confidential." Most recently, Licht was awarded the BMI TV music award for his work on the first season of "Dexter."

Milan Entertainment, Inc. has a proven dedication to releasing quality, award-winning soundtracks for film and television as well as cutting edge electronic, world and Latin music. Its catalog includes such notable soundtracks as "Ghost," "Mulholland Drive," "Monsoon Wedding," "Spirited Away," "Talk To Her," "City of God," "Bend It Like Beckham," "Once Upon A Time in Mexico," "Match Point" as well as the Academy Award Winning films, "March of the Penguins" and "Tsotsi." Milan Entertainment, an independently owned operation with offices located in Burbank, California and Paris, France is distributed by WEA Inc., Warner Music Group's (an AOL Time Warner Company) manufacturing and distribution operation.


Music by Daniel Licht

Track Listing

1. Conoci La Paz (Benny Moore)
2. Bobine (Ska Cubano)
3. Flores Para Ti (Raw Artistic Soul)
4. Uruapan Breaks (Kinky)
5. Com Mi Cumbanchero (Ray Armando)
6. El Cubanchero (Ruben Gonzalez)
7. El Canonero (Beny More)
8. Jammin' Nation (Rocky Dawuni)
9. Make Me Lose Control (Eric Carmen)
10. Panic Oh (Los Abandoned)
11. Perfidia (Mambo All-Stars)
12. Slow Ride (Foghat)
13. Born Free (Andy Williams)
14. Cuando Estamos Lejos (Los Numus Del Pacifico)

For more detailed information, click on this URL:-


Post a Comment

<< Home