Dedicated to reviews and news of music for film, TV and games

Wednesday, August 18, 2010


From Top Dollar PR:-

MIDNIGHT MOVIE by Penka Kouneva
List Price $15.95
Coming Friday The 13th!
Release Date: 08.13.2010


Howlin' Wolf Records is proud to present the first official film score release for
Penka Kouneva, a prominent Hollywood orchestrator and rising composer for videogames,
television, and film. In 2008 Jack Messitt wrote and directed MIDNIGHT MOVIE, a
supernatural horror/thriller about a maniacal filmmaker who breaks the barrier between
celluloid and reality to stalk attendees at a midnight screening of his black and
white cult horror classic THE DARK BENEATH. To score this film Penka Kouneva was
presented with the challenge of providing scores for both the vintage film and
the modern film, which beautifully blend and intersect seamlessly throughout the
storyline. MIDNIGHT MOVIE, premiered in 2008 at the Chicago Horror Film Festival
winning "Best Feature Film." It is currently available on both Blu-ray and DVD from
Bigfoot Entertainment.
Penka Kouneva has long been recognized in Hollywood for her amazing talent as the
orchestrator of blockbuster scores including HOSTEL, HOSTEL PART II, TRANSFORMERS,
TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN, ANGELS AND DEMONS, as well as Tim Burton's "9." Most recently Penka worked alongside renowned film composer Steve Jablonsky
to score the videogame PRINCE OF PERSIA: THE FORGOTTEN SANDS, now available for
download on Amazon. In addition to a busy career as an orchestrator, Penka has
also scored a number of films other than MIDNIGHT MOVIE, including CHUPACABRA TERROR, ICE SPIDERS, and most recently ROUGH HUSTLE.
The score for MIDNIGHT MOVIE is an earnest composition with gentle piano in addition
to dark string tremolos, brass textures, ambient electronics with heavy percussion
and ethereal voices. For the vintage film featured in the storyline, THE DARK BENEATH,
thin, high violins, bassoon, synth patches, and meandering chords for suspense are
employed. A newly composed accompanying suite "Darkness And Fear" as well as an
expanded cue for "Bridget, Your Father Is Not Here" are bonus features.
This release is a limited edition pressing of 1000 featuring a complete score and
full color inserts with vivid imagery from the film. The 16-page insert booklet
includes detailed liner notes by Jack Messitt, the writer and director of MIDNIGHT
MOVIE, along with notes from Penka Kouneva, the composer. This collector's limited
edition packaging is lavishly designed by Luis Miguel Rojas.

For more information and to hear excerpts from select score cues please visit HOWLIN'

MIDNIGHT MOVIE Official Film Website:

JACK MESSITT Official Website:
The names of companies and products mentioned herein are the trademarks of their
respective owners.


Post a Comment

<< Home